The purpose of the Planning Commission is to oversee the City Land Use Ordinance and to provide land use recommendations to the City Council. The Commission is supported and advised by a full-time City staff member.

The Planning Commission consists of 7 members appointed to three or four year terms and the City Clerk/Treasurer and the City Engineer. Board Members must be residents of the City of Hibbing.

Meetings are held on the second Monday of each month and if necessary the fourth Monday of the month. Meetings are held in the City Hall Third Floor Council Chambers.

All boards and commissions are governed by Chapter 2 Section 15 of the City Ordinances. In addition, the Planning and Zoning Commission is also governed by Chapter 2 Section 17 of the City Ordinances.


Board Members Term Expires Phone
Gary Oie December 2015 (218) 262-5535
Thomas Kautto December 2015 (218) 262-0686
Dan Hendrickson December 2015 (218)-263-6895
Chris Link December 2016 (218)-262-6088
Gordon Smith December 2017 (218) 262-3038
John Petrangelo December 2017 (218) 262-5567
Jim Paulsen December 2017 (218) 262-4326
Pat Green Building Official (218) 312-9734

2017 Agendas

2017 03 13 Agenda and Worksheet: Planning Commission  

2017 07 10 Agenda and Worksheet: Planning Commission

2017 07 24 Agenda and Worksheet: Planning Commission

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player QuickTime Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer